Categories: Inspiration

The 2017 CFDA Awards Nominees Marc Jacobs, Virgil Abloh, Rick Owens

Posted on


The Council of Fashion Designers of America (better known as the CFDA) has just announced the nominees for its annual awards ceremony, set to take place in June.   Chairwoman Diane von Furstenberg did the honors, unveiling the list at a reception at Ramscale Studios in New york. The CFDA decided to combine the Swarovski Awards for accessories, men’s and women’s into one single award this year. Also new is the Swarovski Award for Positive Change, which honors an individual in the U.S. fashion industry who has made a positive impact on American communities and has improved the welfare of others. Kenneth Cole is the award’s inaugural recipient. More recently, the CFDA has begun to recognize creativity beyond fashion design too, celebrating those who have excelled in journalism, creative vision, and obviously, personal style.

See the list of this year’s nominees below.

Womenswear Designer of the Year

Joseph Altuzarra, Altuzarra
Raf Simons, Calvin Klein
Marc Jacobs
Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez, Proenza Schouler
Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen, The Row

Menswear Designer of the Year

Raf Simons, Calvin Klein
Robert Geller
Thom Browne
Tim Coppens
Todd Snyder

Accessories Designer of the Year

Stuart Vevers, Coach
Irene Neuwirth
Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel, Mansur Gavriel
Paul Andrew
Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen, The Row
Laura Vassar Brock and Kristopher Brock, Brock Collection
Gabriela Hearst
Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia, Monse
Virgil Abloh, Off-White
Sander Lak, Sies Marjan

Swarovski Award for Positive Change

Kenneth Cole

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award

Rick Owens

Founder’s Award

Pat McGrath

International Award

Demna Gvasalia, Vetements and Balenciaga

Board of Directors’ Tribute

Cecile Richards, Gloria Steinem, and Janelle Monáe

Fashion Icon Award

Franca Sozzani

Related Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *